Kurt Hahn Prize Winners

| 2016 | Rami Rustom | King's Academy |
|------|--|--|
| 2016 | Sari Samakie | King's Academy |
| 2016 | William Close | King's Academy |
| 2015 | Aakriti Suri | Vivek High School |
| 2014 | Poppy Mulford | Regents International School Pattaya |
| 2013 | Violette Betsch | Schule Schloss Salem |
| 2012 | Ella McAuliffe | UWCSEA, Singapore |
| 2011 | Collette Ankenman | Athenian School, California |
| 2010 | Sai Prateek Narayan | Indian School, Oman |
| 2009 | M Rochabrún, D Eeckelers and S Pôlis | On behalf of the Markham College Peru |
| 2008 | Louis Seco | Westminster |
| 2006 | Damien Glover | Armidale |
| 2003 | The Fire Brigade & Technical Squad and Emergency Services | Salem |
| 2002 | Nqobani Mkhwanazi | St. Cyprian's |
| 2000 | Melanie Wels | Ivanhoe |
| 1999 | Dawud Mohamed Suleiman | Starehe |
| 1997 | Vivek Prakash | Doon School |
| 1995 | Serena Brewer | Athenian |
| 1992 | Vittoria Frua de Angeli | Aiglon |
| 1990 | Andrew Nelson | Abbotsholme |
| 1989 | Sindisiwe Nzumalo | Box Hill |
| | Andreas Pieroth | Salem |
| 1984 | Sarah Ritchie | Cobham Hall |
| 1981 | Karl Herman-Roesch | Salem |
| | Marc Napier | Southport |
| 1979 | Kim Schoel | Salem |
| | Aidan Bryden | Gordonstoun |
| 1974 | Simon McLaren | Gordonstoun |
| | Adrian Utley | Gordonstoun |
| | Robin Cole | Gordonstoun |
| 1972 | James Beveridge | Gordonstoun |
| 1970 | James Wingate | Gordonstoun |
| 1968 | Nicola Homer | Box Hill |
| 1967 | Alan Michael Deacon | Battisborough |
| | Moritz Edzard Christoph | Louisenlund |
| | Graf zu Inn - und Knyphausen | Louisenlund |

The Kurt Hahn Prize - Criteria, Background and Process



Background

In appreciation of his lifelong contribution to education, donated on 5 June 1966 by Altsalemer Vereinigung (Salem Alumni) on the occasion of Dr Kurt Hahn's 80th birthday.

The purpose of the Kurt Hahn Prize is to further a lasting spirit of unity among all schools of the Round Square Conference. The prize will be awarded for an exceptional act of service to others, immediate or long term, either within or without the school community.

Criteria

The prize is only awarded to a student for something performed whilst he/she is still a member of the school community (including holidays).

Where the prize is awarded to a group of students from within a Round Square School, one member of the group will receive the prize on behalf of the group, although the group as a whole would be recognised on the Honour Board.

Member Schools of Round Square are expected to have an Honour Board with the names of prize winners and their respective schools engraved on it. The original Honour Board is located at Salem presented by the Altsalemer Vereinigung.

Up to two prizes per year may be awarded. If two prizes are awarded the contribution from the Salem Alumni for travel will be shared equally between the winners. Certificates will be available for nominations received and considered worthy of recognition in this way. If no suitable candidate is nominated a prize will not be awarded in this instance.

A winning student or group of students will receive a pin and certificate as well as their name inscribed on the Honour Boards of all Full Member Round Square Schools. The certificate is signed by the President of the Round Square Conference and the President of the Salem Alumni.

Process

Nominations can be made on-line via a nomination form on the Round Square website.

An unsuccessful nomination be resubmitted on only one further occasion.

Nominations may be considered up to two years after the event.

All nominations must be received by the end of February and will be collated by the Executive Director for consideration by the Board at their March meeting.

Each nomination must be made through the Head of a Full Member Round Square School although it might originate by a fellow student or staff of the school.

A standing sub-committee of the Board comprising the International Executive Director, the elected Staff Representative and up to two others including at least one Head of a current Full Member Round Square School will consider the nominations and make recommendation to the Board.

The Board decision will be made in March.

Communication to the successful candidate(s) will be made by the Executive Director following the Board's decision via the Head of the School to which the student attends. All unsuccessful nominations will also be communicated indicating where applicable the presentation of a certificate.

The prize will be presented at the annual Conference of Round Square closest to when the nomination has been received and adjudicated on. The successful recipient will be invited to attend the Conference to receive his award presented by the President of Round Square, His Majesty King Constantine.

The conference fee of the winner will be carried by the conference host school.

The President of the Round Square and the President of the Salem Alumni can concertedly decide to award the prize in Salem instead, if this seems appropriate on the occasion of a special Kurt Hahn Anniversary The prize will then be awarded by the President of Round Square and/or the President of the Salem Alumni. Travel to and from the Conference or to and from Salem will be supported by the Alumni of Salem (to the value of 1.000 Euro.) Other costs associated beyond this would need to be covered by the awardees school including. The successful student would be awarded a pin and certificate at the time of presentation.

If changes of this statute are necessary they will be proposed to the Board of the Round Square and the Board of the Salem Alumni. Changes are in effect, when both Boards agree.